Bengals Waive Skelton, Cut Roster To 53

Today the Cincinnati Bengals cut their roster down to 53 players, and waived several players that were not expecting to be waived.

Here is the list of all players waived, via

–FB John Conner (fourth-year player, Kentucky)
–TE/LS Bryce Davis (first-year player; Central Oklahoma)
–S Tony Dye (second-year player, UCLA)
–OT Reid Fragel (rookie, Ohio State)
–WR Cobi Hamilton (rookie, Arkansas)
–HB Daniel Herron (first-year player, Ohio State)
–C T.J. Johnson (rookie, South Carolina)
–CB Chris Lewis-Harris (first-year player, Tennessee-Chattanooga)
–CB Onterio McCalebb (rookie, Auburn)
–DE Dontay Moch (second-year player, Nevada)
–CB Shaun Prater (second-year player, Iowa)
–WR Taveon Rogers (second-year player, New Mexico State)
–WR Roy Roundtree (rookie, Michigan)
–LB J.K. Schaffer (first-year player, Cincinnati)
–QB John Skelton (fourth-year player, Fordham)
–DT Terrence Stephens (rookie, Stanford)
–G John Sullen (rookie, Auburn)
–LB Bruce Taylor (rookie, Virginia Tech)

John Skelton is the most surprising player to be let go, he started several games for the Arizona Cardinals prior to coming to Cincinnati. Skelton looked decent for the Bengals, but Josh Johnson looked better.

Dan Herron, the running back from Ohio State, was a great special teams player, it’s a bit surprising that he was waived.

So you will not see any of those 18 players on Sunday when the Bengals take on the Chicago Bears at Soldier Field. That game will start at 1:00 PM ET and will be televised on CBS.


Tags: Chicago Bears Cincinnati Bengals Dan Herron John Skelton

comments powered by Disqus